MAcc Student Profile: Keely Runnalls

Keely came to the MAcc program with a very unique background. Before deciding to pursue accounting, she worked in the landscaping industry. She became interested in business, so enrolled in a business management diploma program. During that program, she realized that she enjoyed accounting and knew CPAs who worked in a large variety of roles. The flexibility of the field really appealed to her, so after a few more years of landscaping, she returned to school to earn her BComm and is in the process of becoming a CPA!

Why did you choose the MAcc program as opposed to the CPA PEP or another accredited university program?

There are many reasons why I chose the MAcc program, but it was still a hard choice to make. The biggest influencers of my decision were:

  1. The MAcc allows you to take all of the electives, not just the ones dictated by my employer.
  2. There are increased teaching opportunities in the future.
  3. I wouldn’t constantly be stressed working on courses after working full-time for years on end.
  4. I would have the benefit of an intensive program and excellent instruction heading into the CFE.
  5. It would be easier to go on snowboarding trips in the winter!
  6. I had four months to fill between graduating and starting work anyway, so why not get halfway done?

The main value of the program is the flexibility it allows in the future. I wasn’t, and I am still not sure which field in accounting I want to work in for the long-term. I see the MAcc as a way to avoid deciding before I have a chance to start working.

How has the MAcc helped you in your accounting career thus far, and what skills from the MAcc program are useful at work or in your everyday life? 

The MAcc program has definitely helped at work. I felt more prepared to make decisions about accounting treatments as I started working at an accounting firm for the first time.

How would you describe your overall experience in your first year of the MAcc program, including your experience in the virtual framework (as a result of COVID in 2020)? 

My experience in the MAcc program was positive. The instructors are great, and I didn’t feel like my education suffered at all from the virtual experience. It is really beneficial to have experts on hand to answer all your questions. The class is also really positive, everyone who is there wants to be there to learn, and it really shows in group projects. The variety of backgrounds is also really beneficial for discussions as it allows you to learn about fields you otherwise wouldn’t.

As the MAcc is a very intensive program, how did you maintain your mental health during those 4 months?

I’m not going to lie; maintaining my mental health was a struggle. It wouldn’t be fair to place that entirely on MAcc considering the pandemic situation. The MAcc was nice because it helped enforce a routine, which I always find helpful. Trying to exercise at least 5 days a week helped too.

What was the biggest challenge you faced in the MAcc program? What advice would you provide to yourself if you were now starting the first year of the MAcc program? 

The biggest challenge that I faced in the MAcc program was adjusting to the scaling of grades. Coming from MacEwan, I was used to knowing exactly what my grade was at all times, so it was hard not knowing. The advice I would give to a first-year MAcc student is not to stress too much if you’re not getting the grades you are used to.

Do you have any advice for anyone thinking about pursuing the MAcc program?

My advice to someone pursuing the MAcc program is to really think about what you want from your life as you further your education. When do you most value your time? Are you confident in your career path? There are benefits to both the MAcc and the PEP route, it just depends on what is the best fit for your life.