MAcc Student Profile: Adam Tate

Adam is currently pursuing his third degree via the MAcc program! He graduated with his Bachelor of Business Administration degree from Mount Royal University via Medicine Hat College in 2020. He also earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Economics from St. Francis Xavier University in 2015. Adam is currently working as an Associate at PwC. 

Why did you choose the MAcc program as opposed to the CPA PEP or another accredited university program?

I chose the MAcc program because being a CPA is a goal of mine. The pathway to becoming a CPA is challenging so to have the support and knowledge from a tremendous group of colleagues and professors is a competitive advantage. 

How has the MAcc helped you in your accounting career thus far?

I believe being enrolled in the MAcc program had a significant impact on my ability to land a position at a major firm. The knowledge I’ve learned through all of my first year classes has been tremendously useful in both the workplace and personally! 

How would you describe your overall experience in your first year of the MAcc program, including your experience in the virtual framework (as a result of COVID in 2020)? 

I thoroughly enjoyed my first year of the program! Making new connections amongst young professionals and being able to engage with knowledgeable professors was great. The virtual environment was not overly difficult to master; communication and directives were understandable. The virtual environment is now paying dividends in a virtual work environment. 

As the MAcc is a very intensive program, how did you maintain your mental health during the first four months in the program?

Physical exercise and scheduling!! I planned out my days/weeks/months, which helped to tackle projects and exams. 

What was the biggest challenge you faced in the MAcc program? What advice would you provide to yourself if you were now starting the first year of the MAcc program? 

I’m sure we all had our challenges throughout a truly unique first year of the program. This program is mentally strenuous, and if I could provide advice to my previous-self, I would suggest to always ask for help if needed!

Do you have any advice for anyone thinking about pursuing the MAcc program?

If you are serious about being a CPA, this is the program for you.