Staff Profile: Alyesha Dyck

When she’s not exploring the great outdoors going mountain and trail biking, you can find Alyesha Dyck, our newest MBA Career Advisor, hard at work preparing for orientation and other initiatives for our incoming 2017 student class!

Q: Before working in the Master’s Programs Office, what was the most unusual or interesting job you’ve ever had?

Alyesha Dyck (AD): Before starting with the Master’s Programs Office, one of my previous roles entailed working as a door-to-door sales representative. I sold alarm systems to homeowners across Canada and even spent four months in Denver, CO. This was a great summer job and I did this for four years while completing my BBA Degree.

Q: What attracted you to your current role and drew you to working in an academic environment?

AD: I am very passionate about helping people succeed and when the opportunity arose for me to work at the University of Alberta with MBA Students, I knew it was the right position for me.

Q: What does your MBA Career Advisor role entail?

AD: As an MBA Career Advisor, I work directly with students to help them achieve their career goals through obtaining internships while completing their MBA and ideal careers post-MBA. I help the students with resume and cover letter writing, LinkedIn profiles, and interview preparation.

Q: What is your personal philosophy?

AD: Always be the best version of yourself. Sometimes it can be difficult, but I believe that being the best version of yourself enables you to be a better person as well as proud of yourself and your accomplishments.

Q: Just a few weeks in, what is your initial impression of the culture of the Master’s Office?

AD: I am grateful to be working with a team that is passionate about helping MBA students. The Master’s Programs Office has created a great program to help coach and guide students through the educational process. They want to ensure that every opportunity is provided to the students so they can achieve their MBA and career goals.

Q: What is a resume “do” and “don’t”?

AD: “Do” – send a new/unique resume tailored for each role you’re applying to. This will allow you to highlight and speak to your skills, abilities, and career experience for each role.

“Don’t” – Before submitting your resume, double check grammar, spelling and formatting. Don’t send a resume that has any of these mistakes.

Q: What is a favorite interview question to ask students as they prepare for interviews?

AD: Tell me why you’re interested in this position and why you believe this company would hire you? The latter part of the question is the most important as it’s critical to think of the value you will bring to the company you’re applying to.

Q: How can students make the most of the MBA Career Management Centre during their time in the MBA program?

AD: Utilize the myriad of services offered and build a strong relationship with the MBA Career Advisors. We are here to help students and we want to see them achieve success.

Q: What do you look forward to the most in terms of working with MBA students?

AD: I am most looking forward to building relationships with each of the students, offering them guidance and providing them with industry insight.

Q: If you could do another job for just one day, what would it be?

AD: I would work at Kleinfelds in New York. I had the best time shopping for my wedding dress and think it would be amazing to help other women find their dresses as well. It is such a special time of one’s life and I would love to be a part of that.

Q: What aspect of your personality adds the most value to the world?

AD: I think my willingness to help people is an aspect of my personality that adds the most value to the world. If given the opportunity to help someone, I will.

Q: Tell us something that might surprise us about you.

AD: Last August, I started mountain/trail biking and it has become my new favorite pastime. I go a few times a week after work and on the weekends. I mostly ride the Goldbar and Strathcona trails but have also experienced riding the trails in and around Jasper.